Loading articles...

Brian Bowman re-elected as Winnipeg mayor

Last Updated Oct 24, 2018 at 10:12 pm CDT

(Photo via Brian Bowman on Facebook)

WINNIPEG (CITYNEWS) – Winnipeggers have voted to re-elect Brian Bowman as the city’s mayor.

The City Hall veteran jumped to a healthy start in advanced polling numbers and less than an hour after polls officially closed, he was re-elected.

Supporters at Bowman’s election headquarters say they cast their ballots for him because they like the work he’s done on certain projects, like his 6-year infrastructure plan for roadways. That $976-million plan was approved just last month.

“Winnipeg has voted to keep building for the future,” Bowman told his supporters. “I am humbled. Thank you, Winnipeg.”

Voters also said they like his pledge to remove red tape for small businesses and work to phase out the business tax. In his speech, Bowman also gave a shout out to every other candidate who had his or her name on a ballot, whether it be for mayor, councillor, or trustee.

“I’m really looking forward to working with each and every [councillor],” he said, adding the mix of new and old faces will help bring fresh ideas to the table. He pledged to supporters of other mayoral candidates that he will work with them to build a future for Winnipeg together.

“Confidence and pride in our city continues to grow and together over the next four years, we are going to take our city to an all-new level. We are going to continue to build on this pride. We are going to continue to raise our profile, not just nationally, but internationally. That is something that will benefit Winnipeggers now and well into the future,” he said.

Tim Diack announced on Twitter he was conceding, adding he congratulated Bowman on his win over the phone Wednesday night.

CLICK HERE: Results of the Portage and Main plebiscite

Winnipeg City Councillors Re-Elected

Janice Lukes (Waverley West) [acclaimed]

Cindy Gilroy (Daniel McIntyre)

Jason Schreyer (Elmwood-East Kildonan)

Ross Eadie (Mynarski)

Jeff Browaty (North Kildonan)

Devi Sharma (Old Kildonan)

John Orlikow (River Heights-Fort Garry)

Matt Allard (St. Boniface)

Scott Gillingham (St. James)

Brian Mayes (St. Vital)

Winnipeg City Councillors Newly Elected

Kevin Klein (Charleswood-Tuxedo)

Sherri Rollins (Fort Rouge-East Fort Garry)

Vivian Santos (Point Douglas)

Markus Chambers (St. Norbert-Seine River)

Shawn Nason (Transcona)