Jennifer Jones to team up with young Manitoba talent

By CityNews Staff

A couple of days after the curling world said farewell to one of the country’s most prolific curling teams, Jennifer Jones has announced she’s not retiring, yet.

While Team Jones featuring Jones, Kaitlyn Lawes, Jocelyn Peterman, Dawn McEwen and Lisa Weagle have split up, the skip announced Thursday that she will be partnering with the 2020 Canadian and World Junior champions, Team Zacharias.

“When I came home from the Olympics, I know in my heart that I wanted to keep curling. When we realized that our team would be going in different directions, I really put some thought into what team I could put together or what team I could join and I kept coming back to Team Zacharias,” explained Zones in a statement.

“Mackenzie, Karlee, Emily and Lauren are so talented and definitely the future stars of our game. They are also great people who are full of energy and excitement and want to grow and learn as curlers.”

The 2014 Olympic-winning team and six-time national championship-winning Team Jones split earlier in the week when McEwen announced retirement after 15-years in the sport.

READ MORE: Curling world reacts to Team Jennifer Jones’ decision to call it quits

Top Stories

Top Stories

Most Watched Today