Loading articles...

ICE to kick off hockey season with back to back games against Wheat Kings

Screenshot of a schedule poster for the Winnipeg ICE's inaugural season (2019/2020) after relocating from Cranbrook at the beginning of 2019. (CREDIT: winnipegice.ca)

WINNIPEG – The inaugural season of the Winnipeg ICE will be jam-packed with 10 opportunities to see them face off against the team’s provincial rival.

Earlier this year, the WHL announced that the team, formerly known as the Kootenay ICE, would be moved to Winnipeg from Cranbrook, saying the franchise was “no longer viable” in the Kootenay region.

The ICE will take on the Brandon Wheat Kings a total of 10 times throughout the regular season, according to the schedule released this morning.

WATCH: Winnipeg ICE score in WHL draft

This year’s season will open with back to back rivalry games for the ICE and Wheat Kings–the season opener will be in Brandon on Sept. 20 and the following night the ICE host the Wheat Kings in Winnipeg.

Below is a list of all 10 games against the Wheat Kings:

  • Friday, September 20   at Brandon   7:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, September 21   vs Brandon   7:30 p.m.
  • Monday, November 11   at Brandon   2:30 p.m.
  • Friday, November 29   at Brandon   7:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, November 30   vs Brandon   7:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, December 17   vs Brandon   7:30 p.m.
  • Friday, December 27   at Brandon   7:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, December 28   vs Brandon   7:30 p.m.
  • Friday, March 20   vs Brandon   7:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, March 21   at Brandon   7:30 p.m.

 

The Prince Albert Raiders, the reigning champs of the 2018-2019 season don’t play in Winnipeg until the new year.

The ICE play 24 games against the Central Division, five games against the B.C. Division and five games against the U.S. Division.